This is the "Home" page of the "Using Archives" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Using Archives   Tags: archives, history  

Last Updated: Jan 12, 2014 URL: http://unimelb.libguides.com/usingarchives Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is an archive?

An archive is a collection of records created during the daily life of an organisation, company or individual. The records held in archival collections are selected for preservation because of the ongoing value of the information they contain or because they provide evidence of the conduct of affairs of their creator.

"Archive" can also refer to the institution that houses these collections.

Archival collections differ from library collections in that they contain unpublished, original and unique records. Library collections on the other hand contain published books that can be accessed through open-shelf browsing. Because of their uniqueness, archival collections can only be accessed ordering specific records that must be viewed in secure reading rooms. Also, archival collections are arranged in the order in which their creator maintained them. A library, on the other hand, arranges its collection according to subject.

Diary of E.J. Leggo

University of Melbourne Archives
Elizabeth Jane Leggo collection 1987.0163
Diary of E.J. Leggo, 1886-1913

 

Libraries and archives compared

Libraries Archives
Contain published material (e.g. books, journals). Contain unpublished material.
Material is organised by subject. Material is organised according to the original order in which it was maintained.
Find material by checking the library catalogue or browsing the shelves. Find material through lists (often called 'finding aids'). Browsing is not allowed.
Borrowing is allowed. Borrowing is not allowed.
 

Contact details

Katie Wood
Co-ordinator, Archives Reference and Malcolm Fraser Collection
University of Melbourne Archives
Telephone Tue, Thu +61 3 9035 4334; Mon-Fri +61 3 8344 6848
Email kathrynw@unimelb.edu.au

Caitlin Stone
Liaison Librarian
Baillieu Library
Telephone +61 3 9035 3698
Email c.stone@unimelb.edu.au

 

Need more help?

Research consultations
University of Melbourne academic staff and postgraduate students can book an individual research consultation

University of Melbourne Archives reference service
Telephone +61 3 8344 6848
Email archives@archives.unimelb.edu.au

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip