This is the "Home" page of the "Finding News" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finding News   Tags: history, how to, news, newspapers, periodicals  

Last Updated: Mar 27, 2014 URL: http://unimelb.libguides.com/findingnews Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Key databases

Factiva provides the full text of thousands of newspapers from around the world. Dates of coverage vary. 

ProQuest News & Newspapers single search interface to all newspaper collections within ProQuest: ProQuest Australia & New Zealand Newsstand; Canadian Newsstand Complete; ProQuest Newsstand; ProQuest Historical Newspapers.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports (1941-1996) consist of translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals and government statements from nations around the world. These media sources were monitored in their languages of origin, translated into English and issued by the U.S. Government.

Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers as well as more than 878,000 television and radio news transcripts.

Trove Digitised Newspapers and More provides the full text of almost every major Australian newspaper (as well as many lesser-known titles) and is constantly expanding.

Times Digital Archive 1785-2007

Google News Archive includes newspaper articles dating in some cases from the early 1800s. See list of included titles.

 

Today's news

The Baillieu Library receives The Age, The Australian, Australian Financial Review, Sydney Morning Herald and Times (London) daily. These newspapers are held on the newspaper shelves until the microforms arrive.

Generally, the microform copies of Australian newspapers are three months behind; there is a one week delay from the date of publication of the Times.

The Giblin Eunson Business, Economics and Education Library receives the Australian Financial Review daily.

 

Finding news on a subject

To find news on a particular subject, first try one of the online databases. Some of the main ones are listed at left under 'Key databases'; others are listed on the tabs above.

If a newspaper has not been digitised, you might need to use a printed index to identify articles, then look at the newpaper itself either in print or on microform. Major indexes are also listed on the relevant tabs above.

 

News resources at other libraries

State Library of Victoria
The State Library of Victoria has one of the largest collections of newspapers in Australia. It has an extensive collection of Victorian metropolitan, suburban and regional newspapers.

National Library of Australia
Register as a user to access National Library of Australia e-resources. These include:

  • Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2003
  • China Core Newspaper Database
  • Eighteenth Century Journals I & II: Newspapers and Periodicals 1685-1815
  • Financial Times Historical Archive, 1886-2006
  • Irish Newspaper Archives (selected titles, 1763-2007)
  • Ren min ri bao tu wen shu ju ku (People's Daily Database 1946-).

Profile

Profile Image
Baillieu Library
Contact Info
Dr Caitlin Stone
Liaison Librarian
Telephone +61 3 9035 3698
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip